Anatomy of the Pelvic Floor

Muscles of the Pelvic Floor

Pelvic floor (PF) muscles function to support pelvic floor organs, assist in urinary and fecal continence, aid in sexual performance (orgasm), stabilize connecting joints, and act as a venous and lymphatic pump for the pelvis.

Male Pelvic Floor
Coccygena, Piriformis & Obturator Internus
Bony Pelvis

The pelvic floor consists of three muscle layers:

  1. Superficial perineal layer: innervated by the
    pudendal nerve

    • Bulbocavernosus

    • Ischiocavernosus

    • Superficial transverse perineal

    • External anal sphincter (EAS)

  2. Deep urogenital diaphragm layer: innervated by pudendal nerve

    • Compressor urethera

    • Uretrovaginal sphincter

    • Deep transverse perineal

  3. Pelvic diaphragm: innervated by sacral nerve roots S3-S5

    • Levator ani: pubococcygeus (pubovaginalis, puborectalis), iliococcygeus

    • Coccygeus/ischiococcygeus

    • Piriformis

    • Obturator internus

Trigger Points in the muscles of the PF may refer pain
in the distribution of the pudendal nerve:

  • Bulbocavernosus and Ischiocavernosus refer pain
    to the perineum and adjoining urogenital structures

  • EAS refers to posterior pelvic floor

  • Levator ani &coccygeus refer to sacrococcygeal area

  • Levator ani to vagina

  • Obturator internus to vagina and anococcygeal area

Call us To Schedule Your Appointment Today!
(386) 756-0077

University Rehab ~ Let Us Teach You The Steps To Graduate To A Better Quality Of Life!

© 2017 University Rehabilitation. All Rights Reserved.

APTA Logo, MoveForwardPT and materials are property of and used with the express written consent of the APTA.